The 5 Stages of Having Writer’s Block

As you’ve noticed, I haven’t been posting as much on this blog. And it’s not that I don’t want to – I really, really want to write. I just have no idea what I should write about. It’s not like I ran out of ideas – I’ve been doing some awesome things in England. It’s just that I can’t figure out how to articulate the things I’m doing here.

A couple of weeks ago, most of us on my program went to visit Stonehenge, Salisbury Cathedral, and Bath. The trip was really fun; not only did the bus have wifi, but we all got to bond and get away from the hustle and bustle of London. Stonehenge was pretty fuckin’ amazing (excuse my language) – it’s actually much cooler than it looks in photos. I also ran into one of my good friends, Daniel there! The wind at Stonehenge was crazy – my hair was everywhere and I was freezing and it sucked. Luckily, Stonehenge’s visitor’s center had a cafe with amazing hot cocoa, so that definitely made up for the shitty weather.

One reason I wanted to visit the Salisbury Cathedral was to see the Magna Carta; however, due to its 800th anniversary this year, they weren’t displaying it. However the cathedral was very beautiful and it’s cafe had GREAT roasted potatoes. I mean, they were the best potatoes I’ve had in a long time. And they also had thousands of cat trinkets. (Can you tell I really love cats and potatoes? I should change this site’s name.)

Bath was also a beautiful, beautiful place to visit – I’m actually planning on going back to have my own personal Jane Austen experience (AKA write poems in cafes and pretend I’m a hipster.) We got to visit the Roman Baths (again, beautiful) and my lovely friend Mandy had us all try the water. Spoiler alert: it doesn’t taste that great. After visiting the baths, a group of us went and got some AMAZING gelato – where I ran into Daniel for the second time! It was great seeing him again so unexpectedly! I really enjoyed my time outside of London and as much as I love this city, I can’t wait to explore other parts of England.

I also had the chance to visit Brixton; if you know me, you know that I love The Clash/”Guns of Brixton” so this trip was pretty meaningful. It was great going to a different part of London; the area is so culturally diverse, I loved every second I was there. I mainly hung around the indoor market, Brixton Village, and got some amazing sourdough pizza. (I’m saying ‘amazing’ too much but I don’t even care.) I also got to spend some time with a friend in Brixton, who showed me some cool street art. I’d include pictures but I’m honestly too lazy to be bothered with going through my iCloud.

Last Thursday I was able to visit Parliament for a second time and watch the MPs grill Ministers with questions (I also took a nap – Parliament needs comfier seating.) It’s always nice going into central London and seeing Big Ben and the London Eye (which I have yet to go to.)

Lately, I haven’t been out exploring because school is so demanding right now; two weeks ago I had 3 papers due, last week I had 2 papers and presentation, and this week I have another 2 papers and a presentation due. It’s quite stressful. Luckily, next week is my last week of classes so I’ll have more free time.

OH! I also booked solo trips to Paris and Amsterdam during my spring break in two weeks. I’m a little nervous about traveling alone but I’m excited to see some European cities. I’ve always wanted to go to Paris to visit the Louvre and though my French is pretty rusty (je parle Francais un peu???) I can’t wait to immerse myself in the culture for FOUR days! After Paris I’m heading up to Amsterdam for a couple of days to hit up the Anne Frank House and the Van Gogh Museum – I love Van Gogh so this trip is going to be pretty damn emotional. After Amsterdam, I’m heading home to London and I’m planing on taking a trip up to Leeds (to see the university, because I’m a nerd) and go back to Bath (because Jane Austen.)

This post was originally going to be about the struggles of writer’s block… I’ve kept the title for the sake of continuity (AKA lazy) but I’m glad I’ve apparently gotten over it. Maybe my next post will cover it. We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

