Resolutions

I feel like this is an obligatory post. It’s New Year’s Day so of course, I’ve got to share my resolutions with the internet. I’m not really one for sharing these things, or even sticking to them, but I think the few resolutions I’ve come up with are going to be fairly easy to keep. Before I do that, though, I want to take a quick minute to reflect on everything that happened this year.

2014 was really the year I figured out what I wanted. Not so much what I want to do in life, or what I want to be, but I discovered the types of people I work well with and the types that I’m not so compatible with. I let go of a lot of toxic people in my life. I lost a few friends and a (shitty) boyfriend and all of that made me realize the type of person I am and the types of things I won’t stand for. I’ll probably make detailed posts about these things in time, so that’s all you need to know for now. Without further ado, here are my five resolutions for 2015.

1. Stay healthy and exercise

Lately I’ve been exercising more (an hour at the gym everyday) and I can feel how much healthier my body is. Before, I relied solely on walking to exercise. Now I’m running, lifting weights, and doing crunches and I can just feel my body getting healthier. I hope that I can stay true to this exercise regime this year.

2. Eat healthier

Branching off that, I want to try and eat healthier. On top of being a picky eater, I do my best to stay vegan/vegetarian. Recently, I was introduced to the beauty of Nando’s Peri-Peri Chicken so I’ve let myself branch out into eating white meat. But I want to do my best with eating much healthier. I mean, my life motto is “I’ll eat salad when I’m 40 and my metabolism is nonexistent” but I guess I can try and eat salad more often. Even though it’s gross. Maybe I’ll stick to tofu.

3. Tell more people to “fuck off”

I have a serious problem. I’m too nice and too caring. When I fight with someone (friend/boyfriend/whatever) I immediately want to resolve it. When I lost my friends and boyfriend this year, I let them walk out the door without saying “bye”–or better, saying “fuck you.” When people screw me over or treat me badly, I never stand up. I let them. So if this happens again in 2015, I’m hoping I can grow a pair and say “fuck off” to their face.

4. Be the person my dog thinks I am

My dog treats me like I’m the fucking queen. She jumps on me, tackles me and gives me plenty of kisses. She thinks the world of me. But, like everyone else, I have my faults. I’m not perfect, nor do I claim to be, but my dog seems to think I am. If I started treating myself the way my dog treats me, I’d be much happier.

5. Be happy

I guess this is cliche, just I really just want 2015 to bring me happiness. I spent a lot of this year crying, being upset and worrying about things that I needn’t worry about. I’ll fix the things I can and let go of the things I can’t. I can’t control other people’s actions, but I can control my reactions to them. I can control my own feelings and destiny. I’m living in the city of my dreams and nothing can hold me back.

I hope you all are enjoying the hangover (I am) and I wish you a rich 2015!

Image credit: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5

Leave a Reply

